Board of Directors

The Guild is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors whose members exemplify a deep commitment to educational excellence and represent expertise from multiple sectors, including expertise in charter school authorization principles and practices, best practices in teacher professional development and education, and organizational systems, compliance monitoring, metrics, management and strategic planning.

Marcia Averbook – Retired school teacher and former President of the Bloomington Federation of Teachers.  Marcia served on the Executive Council of the Minnesota Federation of Teachers and the NCATE Board of Examiners.

John Benson  – Retired high school teacher in Edina. John served in the MN House of Representatives, 2007-2012 (District 43B) and 2013-2014 (District 44B).

Deirdre Kramer – President at DBK Consulting and Associate Professor at Hamline University.  Previously, Deirdre served as the Dean of the Graduate School of Education at Hamline University.

Alberto Monserrate – Co-founder and CEO of NewPublica.  Alberto was elected to the Minneapolis School Board in 2010, serving as chair from 2012 to 2014 and served as board chair of Hiawatha Academies and was a founding board member of KIPP Minnesota and Twin Cities Academy.

Lynn Nordgren – Past President of the Minneapolis Federation of Teachers, nationally respected leader in teacher quality and labor collaboration in an effort to improve teaching and learning for all students.